Road to the 2018 Kentucky Derby

The 2018 Road to the Kentucky Derby is a series of races through which horses qualify for the 2018 Kentucky Derby, which will be held on May 5. The field for the Derby is limited to 20 horses, with up to four ‘also eligibles’ in case of a late withdrawal from the field. There are three separate paths for horses to take to qualify for the Derby: the main Road consisting of 34 races in North America plus one in Dubai, the Japan Road consisting of three races in Japan, and a new European Road consisting of seven races in England, Ireland and France.

The races in the Road to the Kentucky Derby are held from September 2017 (when the horses are age two) through April 2018 (when they have turned three). The top four finishers in the specified races earn points, with the highest point values awarded in the major preparatory races held in late March or early April. Earnings in non-restricted stakes act as a tie breaker.

The Road to Derby prep races in North America are nearing the end of the road. There are only five races left in April where a horse can earn points to qualify for the 2018 Derby.

Race Date Race NameDistanceTrackPoints Awarded
April 7Wood Memorial1 1/8 MileAqueduct100, 40, 20, 10
April 7Blue Grass1 1/8 MileKeenland100, 40, 20, 10
April 7Santa Anita Derby 1 1/8 MileSanta Anita100, 40, 20, 10
April 14Arkansas Derby1 1/8 MileOaklawn Park100, 40, 20, 10
April 14Lexington1 1/16Keenland20, 5, 4, 2